Categories
Log in
There’s more to see...
Sign up to see the rest of what’s here!
Neenah Public Library- Book Club To Go!

Neenah Public Library- Book Club To Go!

Pick out a good book to read with your friends- then come get and get them at Neenah Public Library!

Night Film by Marisha Pessl- suspenseful, mysteries...reads like an especially good episode of Law and Order!

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison...read-alikes: Husband's Secret and Gone Girl

A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick-- Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a reliable wife." But when Catherine Land steps off the train from Chicago, she's not the "simple, honest woman" that Ralph is expecting. She is both complex and devious, haunted by a terrible past and motivated by greed.

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein- Told through the thoughts of the family dog, Stein's novel follows the affecting tale of Denny, a widower attempting to become a race-car champion even as he cares for his precious daughter and their beloved pet.

Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo- In Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and “English” residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But sixteen years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. A young Amish girl named Kate Burkholder survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer . . . but ultimately decided to leave her community. She’s certain she’s come to terms with her past—until the first body is discovered in a snowy field.

The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty- A novel about the friendship between an adolescent, pre-movie-star Louise Brooks, and the 36-year-old woman who chaperones her to New York City for a summer, in 1922, and how it changes both their lives

The Paris Wife by Paula McClain- Meeting through mutual friends in Chicago, Hadley is intrigued by brash "beautiful boy" Ernest Hemingway, and after a brief courtship and small wedding, they take off for Paris, where Hadley makes a convincing transformation from an overprotected child to a game and brave young woman who puts up with impoverished living conditions and shattering loneliness to prop up her husband's career.

The Light between Oceans by M.L. Stedman- A novel set on a remote Australian island around 1918, where a childless couple live quietly running a lighthouse, until a boat carrying a baby washes ashore.

The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman- When Germany invaded Poland, bombers devastated Warsaw--and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals dead, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski began smuggling Jews into the empty cages. Meanwhile, Antonina kept her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and its animal inhabitants and refusing to give in to the penetrating fear of discovery, even as Europe crumbled around her.

Left Neglected by Lisa Genova- Genova's novel revolves around Sarah Nickerson, a high-powered consultant whose fast-paced world comes to a screeching halt when a brain injury leaves her with a condition called Left Neglect. Now Sarah must pay attention to things she has always tried to ignore, and look deep within to understand what really matters in life.

Love, Anthony by Lisa Genova- Two women meet by accident on a Nantucket beach and are drawn into a friendship. Olivia is a young mother whose eight-year-old severely autistic son has recently died. She comes to the island in a trial separation to try and make sense of the tragedy of her Anthony?s short life. Beth, a stay-at-home mother of three, is also recently separated after discovering her husband?s long-term infidelity.

Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce Harold Fry is convinced that he must deliver a letter to an old love in order to save her, meeting various characters along the way and reminiscing about the events of his past and people he has known, as he tries to find peace and acceptance.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn Gone Girl's toxic mix of sharp-edged wit with deliciously chilling prose creates a nerve-fraying thriller that confounds you at every turn.

The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani Two star-crossed lovers--Enzo and Ciro--meet and separate, until, finally, the power of their love changes both of their lives forever. Set during the years preceding and during World War I.

Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline A captivating story of two very different women who build an unexpected friendship. A powerful tale of upheaval and resilience, second chances, and unexpected friendship.