Within the Catholic Church, pretzels were regarded as having religious significance for both ingredients & shape. Pretzels made with a simple recipe using only flour & water could be eaten during Lent, when Christians were forbidden to eat eggs, lard, or dairy products such as milk and butter. As time passed, pretzels became associated with both Lent & Easter. Pretzels were hidden on Easter morning just as eggs are hidden today, & are associated with Lent, fasting, and prayers before Easter.
Lent activities for Easter.