Log in
There’s more to see...
Sign up to see the rest of what’s here!
Visit Site
Aşkım Özdizbay
Aşkım Özdizbay • 2 years ago

The 5 classical orders of architecture as shown in Vincenzo Scamozzi's 'L'Idea della Archittetura Universale from 1615. From left to right : 1) The Composite or Roman Corithian order, the most delicate of all types deemed suitable by the Renaissance architects for churches dedicated to female saints. It is called composite because of the combination of Corinthian and Ionic elements. 2) The Corinthian order with its elaborated capitals the most ornate of the classical/Greek orders and consider...

Related Pins

'Le Cinq Ordres d'Architecture' by Claude Perrault (1693). The five orders of architecture: Tuscan, Doric, Ionic, Corinthian and Composite. The second, third and fourth are the Greek orders. The Romans added the first and last order which are modifications of the Greek orders. The orders become more and more gracious/feminine in their proportions and can be used stacked vertically in one building. The most sturdy ones always lower then the more slender ones. Never the other way around.

Architectural Orders: Corinthian order, reconstruction details

The Five Orders of Architecture

The Five Orders of Classical Greek and Roman Architecture - Tuscan and Doric (top row); two versions of the Ionic (center row); Corinthian and Composite (bottom row).

Corinthian Order Drawing Architecture Modillon by carambas on Etsy, $16.00