Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

The Mohawk Nation is one of 5 founding nations of the Iroquois Confederacy formed by the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga and Seneca. The Mohawks guarded the territory in the East and became known as the "Eastern Doorkeepers". The Mohawk Flag is said to have been designed for all First Nations. The single feather represents "all of one mind". Deganawida (The Great Peacemaker) wanted all First Nations Peoples to be under the Great Law of Peace.

pin 3

Karina White of Akwesasne models a traditional outfit, designed by Niio Perkins (Haudenosaunee). Photo by Randi Rourke Barreiro

pin 2
heart 1

Made In Akwesasne, my cousin Kohe's tattoo

pin 1

Sample of Condolence - Tom Porter, is of the Bear Clan from the Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne. He shares some of his teachings with the Oneida Community