Gone Girl/ Gillian Flynn Read-Alikes

Here are some books you can read while you wait for your hold on Gone Girl to come in.
26 Pins61 Followers
A riveting thriller that intertwines two murders separated across more than a century. Caren Gray manages Belle Vie, a sprawling antebellum plantation that sits between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, where the past and the present coexist uneasily. The estate's owners have turned the place into an eerie tourist attraction, complete with full-dress re-enactments and carefully restored slave quarters.

Celebration of African American History for Adults by ChiPubLib_NorthAustin : The African American Services Committee at the Chicago Public Library recommends these books about African American History for our Adult readers.

Three years ago, working vice for the NYPD, Dan Champion uncovered a sex slavery ring run by a kingpin known only as the Fat Woman. Obsessed with bringing her down, Champion infiltrated a world of sexual obsession and perversity. He broke the case, but the case also broke him. He started taking drugs and soon began to form hallucinations...a dead child prowling the streets of New York...a beautiful woman named Samantha who would have given him the love he always wanted-if she'd only been…

Book: A Killer in the Wind Author: Andrew Klavan Release date (if applicable): January 2013 Synopsis: Dan Champion, former vi.

Patrick Cusimano's life can't get much worse. His father is in jail, he works the midnight shift at a grubby convenience store, and his brother's girlfriend, Caro, has pushed their friendship to an uncomfortable new level. On top of all that, he can't shake the attentions of Layla Elshere, a goth teenager who befriends Patrick for reasons he doesn't understand, and doesn't fully trust. The temptations these two women offer are pushing Patrick to his breaking point.

Kelly Braffet has written a novel of unnerving power—darkly compelling, compulsively addictive, and shockingly honest.

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Dead Lie Down and The Other Woman's House Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name--Mark Bretherick. It's a name she shouldn't know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation--away from her hectic family life--and met a man.

The Wrong Mother (Spilling CID, by Sophie Hannah. It's been a year since Sally Thorning's brief affair with Mark Bretherick. But now, Mark's wife and daughter are dead and the safety of Sally's own family is in doubt.

Alone in an empty house, Lucy tries to imagine the lives of her two young children. They have been gone for seven years, and she is tormented by the role she played in that heartbreaking loss. You can hardly see a glimpse of the sexy, edgy woman she used to be. Back then, she was a magnet for men like Matt, who loved her beyond reason, and Griffin, who wouldn't let go but always left her wanting more.

James Whitfield Thomson turns out a spellbinding stunner of a debut--a novel in which a mother's life is shattered by the staggering consequences of her reckless romantic decisions.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

2014 Edgar Award Winner: Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman for the Mary Higgins Clark Award

One mistake changes everything... In the middle of a rainy Swedish summer, a little girl is abducted from a crowded train. Despite hundreds of potential witnesses, no one noticed when the girl was taken. Her distraught mother was left behind at the previous station in what seemed to be a coincidence. The train crew was alerted and kept a watchful eye on the sleeping child. But when the train pulled into Stockholm Central Station, the little girl had vanished.

nspector Fredericka Bergman investigates the kidnapping and murder of a child who had been separated from her mother on a crowded train on a rainy Swedish summer day, a case that points to the work of a brilliant and ruthless killer.

On the day she was abducted, Annie O'Sullivan, a thirty-two year old realtor, had three goals--sell a house, forget about a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever- patient boyfriend. The open house is slow, but when her last visitor pulls up in a van as she's about to leave, Annie thinks it just might be her lucky day after all.

'Still Missing' by Chevy Stevens ---- On the day she was abducted, Annie O'Sullivan, a thirty-two-year-old realtor, had three goals--sell a house, forget about a recent arg.

Catherine Bailey has been enjoying the single life long enough to know a catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic and spontaneous, Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. And her friends clearly agree, as each in turn falls under his spell. But what begins as flattering attentiveness and passionate sex turns into raging jealousy, and Catherine soon learns there is a darker side to Lee.

Into the Darkest Corner Author: Elizabeth Haynes Book Description: Catherine Bailey has been enjoying the single life long enough to know a catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic and.

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a reliable wife." But when Catherine Land steps off the train from Chicago, she's not the "simple, honest woman" that Ralph is expecting. She is both complex and devious, haunted by a terrible past and motivated by greed.

Set in rural Wisconsin in Ralph Truitt stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a re

From a master of suspense comes a chilling new novel that explores the dangers lurking closer than you think. Because even in the perfect family, you never know what is going on behind closed doors.

A young mother, blond and pretty, disappears without a trace from her South Boston home, leaving behind her four-year-old daughter as the only witness and her handsome, secretive husband as the prime suspect.

HE WOULD GO TO HELL At the Iron Mountain Home for Boys, there was nothing but time. Time to burn and time to kill, time for two young orphans to learn that life isn't won without a fight. Julian survives only because his older brother, Michael, is fearless and fiercely protective. When tensions boil over and a boy is brutally killed, there is only one sacrifice left for Michael to make: He flees the orphanage and takes the blame with him.

Iron House by John Hart. " I enjoyed Iron House because it had so much more to offer the reader than "whodunit." John Hart is southern mystery writing at its best." --The Country Bookshop, Southern Pines, NC

In this gripping novel of suspense, acclaimed author Peter Abrahams gives us an explosive thriller of lust and retribution, desire and accountability, murder and reckoning--set in motion by an illicit love that ticks like a time bomb. A master at creating menacing intrigue and shocking reversals, Abrahams has indeed devised A Perfect Crime.

A Perfect Crime by Peter Abrahams. Features a cuckolded husband who conceives a brilliant, deadly plan to exact revenge and simultaneously restore his flagging career.