Trips Around the World

Collection by Castilleja School Library

50 
Pins
 • 
385 
Followers

Travel without leaving home with these titles set in other countries around the globe. (All annotations (c) Castilleja School Library.)

Castilleja School Library
The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette’s Journey to Cuba - anul 2011 Autor și ilustrator: Margarita Engle I Love Books, New Books, Good Books, Books To Read, Mother Daughter Book Club, Book Club Books, Book Clubs, Book Lists, Book Girl

The Firefly Letters | Margarita Engle | Macmillan

A powerful novel in verse about an early women’s rights pioneer and the journey to Cuba that transformed her life.When Fredrika Bremer asked the Swedish C...

The stunning new book by award-winning Beth Kephart: an exploration of obsession, art, and a rare neurological disorder. ONE THING STOLEN. Read an excerpt here. New Books, Good Books, Books To Read, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, National Book Award, Hard Truth, Books For Teens, The Real World

ONE THING STOLEN (the Florence novel)

One Thing Stolen Chronicle Books April 2015 Now Available A reading and conversation, at Bank Street, videotape here. Read an exc...

Red Butterfly by A. Sonnichsen A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this inspiring story told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold. Butterfly Books, Red Butterfly, Orphan Girl, Living In China, National Poetry Month, Birth Mother, Chapter Books, My Books, Novels

My Books

RED BUTTERFLY Simon & Schuster BFYR Release Date: February 3, 2015 For teachers! Curriculum Guide >>here<

The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi Such a strange little book. Different from anything I'd read before. I liked the tension of English vs Nigerian. Crazy to think that it was written by a teenaged girl Good Books, Books To Read, My Books, Reading Books, Literary Themes, Creepy Houses, Little Girl Names, A Wrinkle In Time, Dream Library

(Adult book with appeal for teens) ENGLAND/NIGERIA - Jess needs a playmate, so it feels like it's meant to be when Tilly appears one day in Nigeria, where Jess and her parents are visiting family. Then Tilly reappears in London when Jess gets home. But who is this mysterious girl, and why does Jess feel like they are tied together by love....but also danger?

Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams. As Zimbabwe disintegrates under its new leadership, Deo’s village is brutally attacked and he can only save Innocent, his brother who is mentally delayed. Ya Books, Books To Read, Nook Books, Michael Williams, Play Soccer, Soccer Ball, Soccer Tournament, The Life, The Book

YouTube

(Grades 7 and up) ZIMBABWE - Deo loves his family - especially his brother - and soccer. But a carefree game must come to an end when soldiers attack his village, and Deo must take his brother, who has a mental disability, and run to safety in South Africa. Click to watch the book trailer.

The Hardcover of the Separated @ Birth: A True Love Story of Twin Sisters Reunited by Anais Bordier, Samantha Futerman True Love Stories, Love Story, Women In America, I Carry Your Heart, Thing 1, Identical Twins, Two Brothers, Penguin Books

Twins separated at birth reveal their incredible reunion story

Two years ago, on a chilly, gray, rainy Saturday afternoon in London, Anaïs Bordier received a screenshot, sent by a friend, of a young woman in America who...

Read "Jasmine Skies" by Sita Brahmachari available from Rakuten Kobo. Mira Levenson is excited to visit India for the first time. But upon arriving she is hurled into new sights, sounds, swe. Ya Novels, Visit India, Leaving Home, Historical Fiction, Book Lists, Jasmine, New Books, Childrens Books, First Time

YouTube

(Grades 6-9) ENGLAND/INDIA - Mira is going to Kolkata and will be meeting her cousin for the first time. She's a bit excited and a bit scared, but most of all, she wants to find out why her family has not spoken to her family in India for so many years. Click to watch the beautiful book trailer and get to know Mira yourself.

Fatty Legs, by Christy Jordan-Fenton and Margaret Pokiak-Fenton: Margaret, a First Nations girl, goes to school to learn how to read. Can she outsmart the prejudiced teacher standing in her way? Read with mom finished Nov.

Fatty Legs, Middle Grade Readers

Eight-year-old Margaret Pokiak has set her sights on learning to read, even though it means leaving her village in the high Arct...

Bamboo People A Novel (Unknown) : Perkins, Mitali : Two Burmese boys, one a Karenni refugee and the other the son of an imprisoned Burmese doctor, meet in the jungle and in order to survive they must learn to trust each other. Date, 1. Tag, Fight For Freedom, Learning To Trust, Reading Levels, Children's Literature, Literature Circles, Coming Of Age, The Book

Bamboo People

An award-winning novel by Mitali Perkins set along the Thai-Burma border.

A time to dance / Padma Venkatraman. A novel in verse: In India, a girl who excels at Bharatanatyam dance refuses to give up after losing a leg in an accident. Mighty Girl Books, Dance Books, Girl Struggles, Indian Classical Dance, Realistic Fiction, Thing 1, Books For Teens, Ya Books, The Book

A Time to Dance Book

A Time to Dance, downloadable teacher resources, lesson plans, discussion guide, starred reviews

Read "Marina" by Carlos Ruiz Zafon available from Rakuten Kobo. From the bestselling author of The Shadow of the Wind comes the intriguing mystery that started it all. Ya Books, Books To Read, Hispanic Heritage Month, Books For Teens, Teen Books, Page Turner, So Little Time, Bestselling Author, Gothic

Marina - Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Discover more about Marina, a novel by Carlos Ruiz Zafón written just before The Shadow Of The Wind.

In Iron Age Ireland, Maeve, the fierce, willful youngest daughter of King Eochu of Connacht, is caught in a web of lies after rebelling to avoid fosterage with another highborn family and an arranged marriage. Ya Books, I Love Books, Good Books, Books To Read, Teen Books, High Fantasy, Fantasy Books, Beautiful Book Covers, I Love Reading

Deception's Princess (Deception's Princess, #1)

Deception's Princess book. Read 149 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Some lies lead to true adventure. . . .Maeve, princess of Con...

Lynn's life is full — choir practice, school, shopping for the perfect jeans, and dealing with her free-spirited mother. Then one day her life is saved by a mysterious girl named Blossom, who introduces Lynn to her own world and family — both more. Ya Books, Book Club Books, Book Lists, Best Children Books, Childrens Books, Library Signs, Realistic Fiction, Christian School

Sarah Ellis and OUTSIDE IN!

We are inside out with excitement about the release of middle grade novel Outside In by Sarah Ellis (Groundwood books)! Sarah has been on the facul

Inside Out & Back Again - anul 2012 Autor și ilustrator: Thanhha Lai Book Club Books, Book Lists, Books To Read, My Books, Book Clubs, Book 1, Sylvia Day, Mother Daughter Book Club, National Book Award

Inside Out and Back Again

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama—this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. Hà has only ever known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends…

Bound (Book) : Napoli, Donna Jo : In a novel based on Chinese Cinderella tales, fourteen-year-old stepchild Xing-Xing endures a life of neglect and servitude, as her stepmother cruelly mutilates her own child's feet so that she alone might marry well. Traditional Fairy Tales, Find A Husband, Evil Stepmother, Step Kids, Bound Book, Books For Teens, High Fantasy, Retelling, Historical Fiction

Book Review: Bound by Donna Jo Napoli |

Title: Bound Author: Donna Jo Napoli Genre: Historical Fiction, Speculative Fiction, Young Adult Publisher: Atheneum Publication Date: November 2004 Hardcover: 192 pages YOUNG XING XING IS BOUND. Bound to her father’s second wife and daughter after Xing Xing’s father has passed away. Bound to a life of servitude as a young girl in ancient China, where the life of a woman is valued less than that of livestock. Bound to be alone and unmarried, with no parents to arrange for a suitable husband…

Lost girl found / Leah Bassoff and Laura DeLuca. F BAS When war comes to her village in southern Sudan, Poni is forced to flee, and join thousands of refugees traveling on foot and experiencing great hardship on their way to a refugee camp.

Author and Teacher

Lost Girl Found is a young adult novel about a girl escaping war in Southern Sudan and trying to get an education.