City Lights Books

City Lights Books

1,374 followers
·
15 followers
San Francisco, CA  ·  City Lights is a landmark independent bookstore and publisher that specializes in world literature, the arts, and progressive politics.
City Lights Books
More ideas from City Lights
Tour Cities Added: Toronto, Canada

"Disposable Futures offers a sweeping, big-picture critique of consumption-driven society and how state and corporate power use and abuse violence to redefine citizenship, national security, and economics in order to enrich the few.

Tour cities added: Bolinas, CA, Boulder, CO, New York, NY

Tour cities added: San Francisco, CA

Tour cities added: Los Angeles, CA, East Cambridge, MA

Winner of the 2015 PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Literary Award: With rhythmic poetry and intimate prose, Haiti Glass offers an unflinching look at disaster, desire, and death-defying love.

Tour cities added: New York, NY

""Nochita shimmers with humor and delight, she burns with stark raving intelligence.""—Mary Gaitskill""In Nochita, Dia Felix builds an extraordinarily rich and.

Tour cities added: San Francisco, CA

On Time, City Lights Books (events)

Black No More by George S. Schuyler (Modern Library Classics Harlem Renaissance)

Black No More George S. Schuyler ISBN What would happen to the race problem in America if black people turned white? These questions and more are answered hilariously in Black No More, George S. Schuyler’s satiric romp

Tour cities added: San Diego,CA, Claremont, CA

Moïse’s poetry embraces everything from her native Haiti, to the experience of an immigrant child, to Basquiat, to the loss of her uncle to AIDS. With brilliant control, Moïse pulls taut the wire that transforms pain into poetry.

'Dear White People: A Guide to Inter-Racial Harmony in 'Post-Racial' America' by Justin Simien, Illustrated by Ian O'Phelan (Atria), picked by Paul

Dear White People, Justin Simien is a great read-alike for Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

'Literchoor Is My Beat: A Life of James Laughlin, Publisher of New Directions' by Ian S. MacNiven (FSG), picked by Paul

“‘Literchoor Is My Beat:’ A Life of James Laughlin, Publisher of New Directions,” by Ian S. MacNiven: An exhaustive look at the man who published the likes of Wallace Stevens, Elizabeth Bishop, F. Scott Fitzgerald and William Faulkner.

The Complete Zap Comix Box Set by R. Crumb and others (Fantagraphics)

The Complete Zap Comix Boxed Set - Zap is the most historically and aesthetically important comics series ever published. Release date: - Pre-orders taken now.

How to Grow Up: A Memoir by Michelle Tea, picked by Stacey

If you haven’t already read Michelle Tea’s talky, raw, and hilarious memoirs (Valencia, The Passionate Mistakes and Intricate Corruption