Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

Tribal Leaders Directory provides a tribes’ name, address, phone, and fax number for each of the 565 Federally-recognized Tribes. There may be an email or website address listed for the tribal entity if they have provided it to the BIA. Each tribe is listed in three sections, by the BIA region that provides services to them, the state they are located in, and in alphabetical order. The Directory also provides information on the BIA Regions and agency offices.

pin 1

California Indian Bands // With over one hundred federally recognized tribes, and many unrecognized tribes, California has the largest Native American population and largest number of distinct tribes of any US state. Californian tribes are characterized by linguistic and cultural diversity.

pin 146
heart 15

These are the original inhabitants of the area that is now Texas. There are three federally recognized Indian tribes in Texas today: Alabama-Coushatta Tribe, Kickapoo Traditional Tribe, and Ysleta del Sur Pueblo.

pin 480
heart 41
speech 1

Yuchi woman before 1907. - Today the Yuchi live primarily in the north eastern Oklahoma area, where many are enrolled as citizens in the federally recognized Muscogee Creek Nation. Some Yuchi are enrolled as members of other federally recognized tribes, such as the Absentee Shawnee Tribe and the Cherokee Nation.

pin 54
heart 7
speech 1

A Cherokee woman, undated photo (early 1900s?). Today, the Cherokee Nation is comprised of three separate federally recognized tribes, and is the largest. Originally one of the "Five Civilized Tribes", Cherokee were concentrated in the Southeastern US.

pin 118
heart 9

Arizona is home to 22 federally recognised tribes- around 250,000 (2000 Census). Native Americans comprising about 5 percent of the population and possessing ownership of some 28 percent of the state’s land.

pin 12
heart 1

The fight for marriage equality on Native American reservations

Watch the video The fight for marriage equality on Native American reservations on Yahoo News . Many federally recognized tribes have their own governments and laws banning gay marriage

pin 1

Dear white people: As a Native who is enrolled in a federally recognized tribe, we don't care you're "1/64th Cherokee".

pin 100
heart 97
speech 56

The Flandreau Santee Sioux tribe is poised to become the first Native American tribe to grow and sell pot for recreational use, taking advantage of the Obama administration’s offer to let all 566 of the country’s federally recognized tribes enter the marijuana industry.