Pinterest • The world’s catalog of images

President James Monroe - Presidential Oath of Office Administered to James Monroe by the Honorable John Marshall, Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.


5th President of the United States: James Monroe * Democratic - Republican * Term: 1817 - 1825 * Born: April 28, 1758 in West Moreland County, Virginia * Died: July 4, 1831 * Vice President: Daniel D. Tompkins * First Lady: Elizabeth Kortright * Children: Eliza and Maria *


05: James Monroe 1758-1831 Dates in office:1817-1825 Political Party: Democratic-Republican: 1819 Florida ceded by Spain to the United States. In exchange the U.S. cancelled $5 million in Spanish debts. Monroe policy bears his name, responding to the threat that the governments in Europe might try to aid Spain in winning back her former Latin American colonies.He and Secretary of State John Quincy Adams wished to avoid trouble with Spain until it had ceded the Floridas, as was done in 1821.

James Monroe, American Revolutionary War Hero and later President of the United States.


Born on April 28, 1758, in Westmoreland County, Virginia, James Monroe fought under George Washington and studied law with Thomas Jefferson. He was elected the fifth president of the United States in 1817. He is remembered for the Monroe Doctrine, as well as for expanding U.S territory via the acquisition of Florida from Spain. Monroe, who died in 1831, was the last of the Founding Fathers.


Thomas Jefferson, said, 'Monroe was so honest that if you turned his soul inside out there would not be a spot on it.' "

from Education

Who Was James Monroe?

James Monroe, Fifth President of the United States. Painted by C.B. King ; engraved by Goodman & Piggot.