Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

Bob Dylan, the Musician: America’s Great One-Man Songbook

He’s a music star, but Mr. Dylan has always placed himself on the literary continuum, and the Nobel committee has finally rewarded him for that bold move.In Mr. Ricks’s sly 2004 book “Dylan’s Visions of Sin,” he persuasively compared Mr. Dylan at various points with personages as distinct as Yeats, Hardy, Keats, Marvell, Tennyson and Marlon Brando.

Pearl Buck (1892-1973), writer, civil rights activist, winner 1938 Nobel Prize in Literature. Born Hillsboro, West Virginia to missionary parents. Taken to China at 3 months old. Graduated Randolph-Macon Woman's College, Lynchburg, VA, Phi Beta Kappa, 1914. Masters from Cornell University in 1925. In 1949, outraged that existing adoption services considered Asian and mixed-race children unadoptable, Buck established Welcome House, Inc., the first international, interracial adoption agency.


Alice Munro (Nobel Prize in Literature 2013) (b. 1931) is a Canadian author writing in English. Munro's work has been described as having revolutionized the architecture of short stories, especially in its tendency to move forward and backward in time.


The TIME Vault: 1955

"Jean-Paul Sartre at his home in Paris in 1946. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1964, but famously declined to accept it."

from The Daily Beast

10 Russian Novels to Read Before You Die

On the occasion of the Nobel Prize in Literature being awarded to Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich, here’s an annotated list of the cream of Russian literature.


Herta Muller - Nobel Prize in Literature 2009 - born Romania, residence at time of award Germany - "who, with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed"

from Superinteressante

13 escritoras que já ganharam o Prêmio Nobel de Literatura – Superlistas Superlistas

Selma Lagerlöf.Suécia.Ano 1909;Além de ter sido a primeira mulher a receber o Prêmio Nobel da Literatura, em 1909, em 1914 a sueca Selma Ottilia Lovisa Lagerlöf se tornou também a primeira a integrar a Academia Sueca, instituição responsável pela premiação instituída por Alfred Nobel. Entre os seus livros traduzidos para o português estão o infanto-juvenil A Maravilhosa Viagem de Nils Holgersson através da Suécia (1906) e De Saga em Saga (1908), coletânea de contos e pequenas histórias.