Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

On August 14, 1848, Congress created the Oregon Territory, an area encompassing present-day Oregon, Idaho, Washington, and parts of western Montana and Wyoming. Peter Burnett, a Missouri lawyer who joined an expedition to the Oregon Territory in 1843, hoped to make enough money there to repay his accumulated debt.


Located south of Reedsport, Oregon, Umpqua River Lighthouse was the first tower of its kind built in the Oregon Territory. The original sentinel was built in 1857 and marked the river entrance. This stamp was issued in 2007.