James S. McDonnell Planetarium under construction. The Barnes and Jewish Hospitals and the Central West End skylines can be seen in the background. Photograph taken by Henry T. (Mac) Mizuki in 1961. Mac Mizuki Photography Studio Collection, Missouri History Museum.
James S. McDonnell Planetarium under construction.
The Old Rock House is visible in Compton and Dry's Pictorial St. Louis 1875, along with the Old Cathedral and Old Courthouse. The railroad tracks visible in front of it would be elevated on the trestle five years later.
The Old Rock House sat at the foot of Chestnut Street, on Wharf Street (Leonor K. Sullivan Blvd. today). It was removed in 1959 to allow Terminal Railroad's tracks to remain on the riverfront.they had been on an elevated trestle just in front of the Rock House since 1880. The site of the Rock House is buried under the steps, in the bluff that conceals the railroad tracks today.
A 1946 aerial view of St. Louis and nearby area made from an altitude of 16,000 feet with infrared film and filter. Mississippi River in foreground; Missouri River in background. Photo by Art Witman of the Post-Dispatch
Today the St. Louis Blues call downtown's Scottrade Center home, but many of you likely have fond memories of their former home—the St. Louis Arena. Opened in 1929 in St. Louis's Dogtown neighborhood, the Arena was known as the Checkerdome from 1977 to 1983 after the building and the team were purchased by Ralston Purina. The iconic St. Louis building was demolished after the Blues moved to their new home, the Kiel Center (now the Scottrade Center), in 1994.
altar, menino jesus de praga, icrsp / The High Altar at Saint Francis de Sales stands 52 feet tall and features a painted sculpture of the Crucifixion in its upper register. / Saint Francis de Sales Oratory, Saint Louis, MO.