Books for Young Changemakers (MG/YA)

Collection by Laurie Thompson

33 
Pins
 • 
341 
Followers

Books for tweens and teens who want to make a difference in the world.

Laurie Thompson
Buy This Book Will (Help You) Change the World by Sue Turton at Mighty Ape NZ. Campaign for change. Stand up for your future. Political turmoil, shocks and upsets have rocked the world in the past few years,. New Books, Books To Read, Global Citizenship, Black History Books, Challenge The Status Quo, Stand Up For Yourself, Political System, Political Events, Change The World

Journalist Sue Turton’s new book aims to help young people navigate political activism

British journalist Sue Turton has been to some of the most dangerous places in the world over the course of her almost 30-year career. In 2010, she joined Al Jazeera as a war correspondent covering…

Start It Up : The Complete Teen Business Guide to Turning Your Passions Into Pay by Kenrya Rankin. Business journalist Rankin tells teens how to start and structure a company and turn your dreams into dollars. Teen Entrepreneurs, Rainbow Resource, Seventh Grade, Books For Teens, Reading Levels, Financial Literacy, Starting A Business, Nonfiction, Good Books

Zest Books

The Complete Teen Business Guide to Turning Your Passions Into Payby Kenrya RankinA lively and comprehensive read, this guide, written by business journalist Kenrya Rankin, tells teens how to start and structure a company, make it legitimate, market a product...Read More

Read "Glimmer of Hope How Tragedy Sparked a Movement" by The March for Our Lives Founders available from Rakuten Kobo. Glimmer of Hope is the official, definitive book from The March for Our Lives founders. In keeping up with their ongoing. Used Books, Books To Read, Law Books, Children's Books, David Hogg, March For Our Lives, Ya Novels, Penguin Random House, Social Change

Glimmer of Hope by The March for Our Lives Founders: 9781984836090 | PenguinRandomHouse.com: Books

(Penguin Young Readers) Glimmer of Hope Glimmer of Hope is the official, definitive book from The March for Our Lives founders. It tells the story of how a group of teenagers raced to channel their rage and sorrow into action, and went on to create one of the largest youth-led movements in global history. 100% of the authors’ proceeds will benefit the March for Our Lives Foundation and the ongoing fight for gun violence prevention in the United States.

Read "Just Mercy (Adapted for Young Adults) A True Story of the Fight for Justice" by Bryan Stevenson available from Rakuten Kobo. The young adult adaptation of the acclaimed, New York Times bestseller Just Mercy--now a major motion picture starrin. Mercy Movie, Bryan Stevenson, Hbo Documentaries, Fight For Justice, John Grisham, To Kill A Mockingbird, Nobel Peace Prize, Brie Larson, Social Justice

Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition, Adapted for Young Adults)

About Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition, Adapted for Young Adults) The young adult adaptation of the acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestseller Just Mercy –now a major motion picture starring Michael B. Jordan, Jaime Foxx, and Brie Larson and the subject of an HBO documentary feature! In this very personal work–adapted from the original #1 bestseller, which the New York Times calls “as compelling as To Kill a Mockingbird , and in some ways more so”–acclaimed lawyer and social justice advocate…

It’s been a wild and sometimes scary ride lately with the political climate changing in the wake of the United States Presidential election last November… Book Of Changes, Books For Tweens, About Climate Change, Nobel Peace Prize, Change Maker, Civil Rights Movement, Readers Workshop, Beyond Words, What To Read

Booklist: Activism Starts With You: Nonfiction Books to Inspire and Instruct

It’s been a wild and sometimes scary ride lately with the political climate changing in the wake of the United States Presidential election last November and, unfortunately, racism and hatred…

Rad Women Worldwide : Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History by Kate Schatz and Miriam Klein Stahl Hardcover) for sale online Free Reading, Reading Lists, Book Lists, Rebel, Badass Women, Women In History, History Online, Black History, American Women

Rad Women Worldwide

About Rad Women Worldwide Educational and inspirational, this gift-worthy New York Times bestseller from the authors of Rad American Women A-Z, is a bold, illustrated collection of 40 biographical profiles showcasing extraordinary women from across the globe. Rad Women Worldwide tells fresh, engaging, and amazing tales of perseverance and radical success by pairing well-researched and riveting biographies with powerful and expressive cut-paper portraits. The book features an array of…

Be a Changemaker: How to Start Something That Matters by Laurie Ann Thompson Simon Pulse/Beyond Words, 2014 ISBN: 1582704651 Grades Mighty Girl Books, High School Teen, School Kids, Middle School, Wharton Business School, Reading Adventure, Step Workout, Service Learning

BE A CHANGEMAKER

About page for the teen how-to book for young social entrepreneurs, BE A CHANGEMAKER: HOW TO START SOMETHING THAT MATTERS, by Laurie Ann Thompson.

Doable : the girls' guide to accomplishing just about anything - "Got goals? This empowering guide shows how to tackle your to-dos with confidence and enthusiasm so that you can transform anxiety into accomplishment. Mighty Girl, Bed Wetting, Behavior Modification, Negative Thinking, Beyond Words, Books For Teens, Girl Guides, Self Help, New Books

Doable

DOABLE:The Girls’ Guide to Accomplishing Just About Anything! | Debbie Reber Author

This book is about six kids on a mission to Mars. Not everyone wants them to succeed as they are confronted with sabotage and must find the culprit. Mars Mission, Thriller, Science Fiction, Michigan, Mystery, Carl Sagan, Used Books, Conspiracy, Book Lists

The Countdown Conspiracy

Ambassador, you are go for launch in T- minus 5…4…3…2…. Get ready to blast off with this high-action, high-stakes middle grade adventure that’s perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis! Miranda Regent can’t believe she was just chosen as one of six kids from around the world to train for the first ever mission to Mars. But as soon as the official announcement is made, she begins receiving anonymous threatening messages…and when the training base is attacked, it looks like…

We Say (Random House) A journalistic look at the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland and the fight for gun control–as told by the student reporters for the school’s newspaper and TV station. School Librarian, School S, Ms Teacher, School Newspaper, Hello Giggles, Stoneman Douglas High School, Eric Garner, Social Studies Classroom, Florida

We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists

About We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists A journalistic look at the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland and the fight for gun control–as told by the student reporters for the school’s newspaper and TV station. This timely and media-driven approach to the Parkland shooting, as reported by teens in the journalism and broadcasting programs and in the Marjory Stoneman Douglas newspaper, is an inside look at that tragic day and the events…

The Hardcover of the Fred Korematsu Speaks Up (Fighting for Justice Series by Laura Atkins, Stan Yogi, Yutaka Houlette Atkins, Nonfiction Books For Kids, Fight For Justice, Historical Fiction Books, Medicine Book, Chinese Medicine, Award Winning Books, Up Book, Book Lists

Fred Korematsu Speaks Up by Laura Atkins, Stan Yogi, Yutaka Houlette

Winner, Carter G. Woodson Book Award Winner, New-York Historical Society Children’s Book Prize Winner, Social Justice Literature Award Honor Title, Jane

 : A Handbook for Young Activists by Vanessa Martir, Julia Steers and Nancy Lublin Paperback) for sale online Global Citizenship, Old Person, County Library, Social Issues, How To Raise Money, Getting Things Done, Change The World, Just Do It, Something To Do

Do Something!: A Handbook for Young Activists | IndieBound.org

Kids want to do it. Parents want their kids to do it. Schools often require kids to do it. So do it: Do something and change the world. And here’s how, in a fist-in-the-air book for every young activist.DoSomething.org knows exactly how to reach kids. The largest Internet-based teen service organization, it supports 750,000 projects, receiving 15 million visitors a month, and, for the first time ever,…

The Hardcover of the Our Stories, Our Voices: 21 YA Authors Get Real About Injustice, Empowerment, and Growing Up Female in America by Julie Murphy, Mentor Texts, Get Real, Flirting Quotes, Historical Fiction, Nonfiction Books, Book Lists, Short Stories, Growing Up, The Voice

Our Stories, Our Voices

Find out more about Our Stories, Our Voices by Amy Reed, Julie Murphy, Sandhya Menon, Ellen Hopkins, Amber Smith, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Kuehnert, Sona Charaipotra, Anna-Marie McLemore, Brandy Colbert, Martha Brockenbrough, Jaye Robin Brown, Maurene Goo, Aisha Saeed, Jenny Torres Sanchez, Hannah Moskowitz, Ilene (I.W.) Gregorio, Tracy Deonn, Somaiya Daud, Christine Day, Alexandra Duncan at Simon & Schuster. Read book reviews & excerpts, watch author videos & more.

Randomly Reading: Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday: We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March by Cynthia Levinson Book Of Job, The Book, Black History Books, High School Students, School Kids, Teaching Tools, Civil Rights, Social Studies, Feminism

We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March | IndieBound.org

Essential reading on American and Black history, race, protest and youth activism★ Four Starred Reviews ★Editors' Choice Book ―The New York TimesJane Addams Children's Book AwardTop 10 Black History Books for Youth ―BooklistBest Books of the Year ―BooklistBest of 2012 ―Kirkus ReviewsBest Books 2012 List ―Publishers WeeklyBest Books of the Year ―School Library JournalParents' Choice Gold AwardA Junior Library Guild…

A Random Book About the Power of Anyone- Talia Y Leman Good Books, Books To Read, My Books, Film Books, Comic Books, Kind Campaign, Meditation Practices, Book Images, Nonfiction

A Random Book about the Power of Anyone | IndieBound.org

From the incredibly impressive and inspiring teenager who unified the fundraising efforts of children across the USA, reporting more than $10 million (yes, MILLION) for the survivors of Hurricane Katrina at the age of ten, comes the ultimate, and most unexpected, guide for everyone who dreams of making a difference. You can be greater than you know how to be. In a world where you are pushed to know more, this book…