Sterling Hill Mining Museum, Ogdensburg, NJ

24 Pins
683 Followers

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

Inside the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

Inside the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

Fluorescent minerals in the Rainbow Room at the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began in the 1730s and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl....

Saved by
The History Girl

Fluorescent minerals in the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

Inside the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

The main shaft of Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

The lamp room inside the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.c...

Saved by
The History Girl

Inside the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

Fluorescent minerals on display at the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

Fluorescent minerals on display at the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl

Showers at the Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ, a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.com

Saved by
The History Girl

The Sterling Hill Mining Museum in Ogdensburg, NJ is a former iron and zinc mine. Mining began as early as 1730 and was the last working underground mine in NJ when it closed in 1986. Along with the nearby Franklin Mine, it is known for its variety of minerals, especially the fluorescent varieties. There are 35 miles of tunnels, going down to 2,065 feet below the surface on the main shaft. The site was added to the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1991. Discover more @ www.thehistorygirl.co...

Saved by
The History Girl