Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

Explore Ron Rash, Ibooks, and more!

No one captures the complexities of Appalachia—a rugged, brutal landscape of exquisite beauty—as evocatively and indelibly as author and poet Ron Rash. Winner of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, two O Henry prizes, and a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, Rash brilliantly illuminates the tensions between the traditional and the modern, the old and new south, tenderness and violence, man and nature.

Saints at the River: A Novel by Ron Rash https://www.amazon.com/dp/0312424914/ref=cm_sw_r_pi_dp_-KUzxbPYGBKBN

“Tense and atmospheric, this novel is set in Depression-era North Carolina but confronts a number of issues that are relevant today. I consider it one of the best historical fiction titles I've read lately --what must have been intensive research blends seamlessly with unforgettable characters and vibrant depictions of mountain caves, mining towns, and struggling farms. Fans of Claire Fuller and Ron Rash won't want to miss it.” Elizabeth Weber, The Book Table, Oak Park, IL

from BuzzFeed

21 Books To Read Before They Hit The Big Screen In 2015

The book is a thrilling story that follows newlyweds George and Serena Pemberton on their journey to create a timber empire and ruthlessly kill all who fall out of favor. When Serena finds out she can’t bear children, she seeks to murder the illegitimate child she believes George is trying to protect.