Monroe Avenue, Detroit c. 1915 - In late 1880s, the building was converted into a 52-room hotel, known first as the Stanwix, then as Gies' European hotel, with a restaurant on the first floor. In 1909, the hotel and restaurant was renamed the Berghoff, then the Tuxedo, and, in 1919, the Frontenac.
J.L. Hudson - 13 stories of shopping - Hudson’s was the tallest department store in the country and was second in square footage only to Macy’s anchor Store in New York. It dominated the retail market in the city through the 1970’s before closing its doors in 1983. The Thanksgiving Day Christmas Parade down Woodward Ave ended at Hudson's downtown - it was an awesome shopping experience.