There’s more to see...
Sign up to discover and save different things to try in 2015.
Visit Site

Related Pins

The Monk was one of the first of it's Gothic kind published in 1796 when Matthew Lewis was under 20 years old

Best Books of 2013--AND THE MOUNTAINS ECHOED by Khaled Hosseini--"This is an exquisite novel, a must–read for anyone with an interest in what it means to be alive, anywhere and everywhere." —USA Today

Spunky, strong-willed eleven-year-old Mirka Herschberg isn't interested in knitting lessons from her stepmother, or how-to-find-a-husband advice from her sister, or you-better-not warnings from her brother. There's only one thing she does want: to fight dragons!

The story of Jeannette Walls's grandmother, Lily Casey Smith. Fascinating - and just like The Glass Castle, you can't put it down.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman is, at its core, a book about childhood from the perspective of a child. The horror is minimal and seems almost fantastical. The whole book has a dreamlike quality. While this is a quick read at 178 pages, a lot is packed into those pages. Fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book will enjoy this one as well.

The story is primarily set in the Salinas Valley, California, between the beginning of the twentieth century and the end of World War I, though some chapters are set in Connecticut and Massachusetts, and the story goes as far back as the American Civil War. Based on the book of Genesis, this novel is lyrical and poetic - A window into the human condition.

Overview: Set in a small Cajun community in the late 1940s, A Lesson Before Dying is an "enormously moving" ("Los Angeles Times") novel of one man condemned to die for a crime he did not commit and a young man who visits him in his cell. In the end, the two men forge a bond as they both come to understand the simple heroism of resisting--and defying--the expected. Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction.