There’s more to see...
Come take a look at what else is here!
Visit site
  • Manchester Public Library

    At a stark outpost in the Kandahar mountain range, a team of American soldiers watches a young Afghan woman approach. She has come to beg for the return of her brother's body. The camp's tense, claustrophobic atmosphere comes to a boil as the men argue about what to do next. Taking its cues from the Antigone myth, this significant, eloquent novel recreates the chaos, intensity, and immediacy of war, and conveys the inevitable repercussions felt by the soldiers, their families, and by one sister.

Also on these boards

Related Pins

Another book that while sounds like a "how-to" manual is actually a well-crafted novel of a woman's life. Despite having chronic kidney disease, "Gal" has carved out a life for herself while going between dialysis, teaching AP biology to high school students, and breeding new rose hybrids, but her strict life develops a kink when her 15-year-old niece comes to live with her. This is another book with fabulous characters and a story that will leave you moved.

Just finished it and its one of the best twisted books I have ever read! Loved it. I normally hate movies based on books because they never do the book justice but I would like to see this made into a movie

On order from our public library: Many on the chat said this was even better than A RELIABLE WIFE. High praise indeed as Wife was pretty darn good. Publication date is June 2012.

Singularly unique. Told from the perspective of a 12 year old as the world begins to spin slower and lives go out of control.

This is one I'm very anxious to read. Publication date is August 2012. One GC'er said "fabulous literate read."

A compelling psychological tour of life inside the socially & politically restrictive borders of North Korea. Tells the poignant stories of two young girls, Gi & Il-sun who are forced into the underworld of human trafficking. How Gi & Il-sun endure, how they find a path to healing, is what drives this absorbing & exquisite novel.

June 2012: 1889, London. Jack the Ripper's reign of terror is finally over—but a new one is just beginning. . ..Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist. - Publisher Marketing