Visit site
  • Michele Timmins

    The Ashes: The Australian cricket team during their tour of England in 1882. Back row (left-right); H H Massie, G J Bonner, S P Jones, F R Spofforth. Middle row; C W Beal (manager), J M Blackham, G Giffen, W L Murdoch, A C Bannerman, P S MacDonnell, H F Boyle. Front row; G E Palmer and T W Garrett Photograph: Popperfoto/Getty Images

Related Pins

The Australian cricket team celebrate after taking the final wicket to win the Ashes against England in Perth on December 17, 2013. GREG WOOD/AFP/Getty Images

Registered by Heritage Council of Victoria Australia. Rupertswood is of great national and international significance for its association with the history of cricket as the birthplace for the Ashes, cricket's most illustrious trophy. After a social match on the property with members of the English touring cricket team in 1882, Janet, Lady Clarke, burnt a bail and presented 'the ashes' in an urn to the victorious English captain, Ivo Bligh.

The Australian XI of 1882. The cricket team toured England and won the only test at the Oval, which was the start of the Ashes legend Pictur...

Tendulkar became the first batsman ever to reach the milestone of 14,000 runs in Test cricket during the second day of the second Test betwe...

A 1888 Australian Cricket Team engraving of the Ashes touring cricketers in England. **

England's Ian Bell dives to make his ground during play on the fifth day of the fifth Ashes Test match between England and Australia at The Oval cricket ground in London

A patriotic fan outside Eden Gardens as Tendulkar plays his 200th and final test match.

The Kings of Spin: Monty Panesar and Graeme Swann celebrate England's first Test series win in India since 1984/85. Photograph: James Anderson/Twitter

Kevin Pietersen plays a reverse sweep on the third day of the second cricket Test match against Sri Lanka in 2012 Photograph: Eranga Jayawardena/AP