Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas

New York Then and Now: The Lower East Side - make sure to check out pp. 50-57 to read excerpts from the annual reports of NYPL librarians in the 1940s-1970s: http://www.nypl.org/sites/default/files/lowereastsideguide-final.pdf #TeachNYPL

New York Then and Now: East Harlem - make sure to check out pp. 105-115 to read excerpts from the annual reports of NYPL librarians from the 1930s-1940s: http://www.nypl.org/sites/default/files/EastHarlemGuide.pdf #TeachNYPL #NYCHistory #CommonCore #Aguilar

NYC Then & Now: The Lower East Side. Fully downloadable PDF with census records, archival maps, Venn diagrams, text dependent questions and more. #CommonCore aligned texts and tasks for Grades 6-12 http://www.nypl.org/sites/default/files/lowereastsideguide-final.pdf #TeachNYPL

NYC Then & Now: East Harlem. Fully downloadable PDF with census records, archival maps, Venn diagrams, text dependent questions and more. #CommonCore aligned texts and tasks for Grades 6-12 http://www.nypl.org/sites/default/files/EastHarlemGuide.pdf #TeachNYPL

The New York World's Fair 1939-40: Online Exhibit with photographs, essays, historical context and more: http://exhibitions.nypl.org/biblion/worldsfair #TeachNYPL

Wurts Brothers. General View - Manhattan - Aerial view - 42nd Street - Fifth Avenue - looking west [New York Public Library - Bryant Park -Paramount Building - ...] (1931). NYPL Digital Gallery.

from TripAdvisor

Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum - this museum, located in an actual tenement, is dedicated to interpreting and preserving the history of the immigrant experience on New York City's Lower East Side.

Broadway was originally the Wickquasgeck Trail, carved into the brush destination of Manhattan by its Native American inhabitants. This trail originally snaked through swamps and rocks along the length of Manhattan Island. Upon the arrival of the Dutch, the trail soon became the main road through the island from Nieuw Amsterdam at the southern tip. The Dutch explorer and entrepreneur David de Vries gives the first mention of it in his journal for the year 1642 ("the Wickquasgeck Road over…