There’s more to see...
Come take a look at what else is here!
She used Pinterest to find new views to admire
Join Pinterest to find (and save!) all the things that inspire you.
Creating an account means you’re okay with Pinterest's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
billion Pins
to explore
seconds to
sign up (free!)
Visit site

Margaret Atwood: Alice Munro's road to Nobel literature prize was not easy

Initially regarded as a housewife whose writing was domestic and boring, elusive perfection drove Canadian to literary stardom
  • Alexander Kuskis

    Canadian author Alice Munro wins Nobel Prize in Literature - Alice Munro wins the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature, becoming the first Canadian woman to take the award since its launch in 1901. She tells...

  • Snowbird

    Alice Munro Wins Nobel Prize in Literature ~ Love this woman, who gave eloquent voice to the lives of rural and small town Canadian women. ~ "The 82-year-old Canadian short story virtuoso was incredibly Canadian about the honor, remarking that she hopes her win will draw attention to other talented Canadian writers." ~

  • Roy Jawad Hussain

    #AliceMunro clinches #NobelPrize in #literature #NobelLiterature #Canada #Sweden #Stockholm via @News_Encounter

Alice Munro, Canadian Author, Alicemunro, Book, Shorts Stories, Win Nobel, Nobel Prizes, Canadian Writers, 2013 Nobel

Related Pins

Canadian author Alice Munro, queen of the short story, is the 2013 winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Alice Munro – Nobel Prize winner in Literature | Out of Print Clothing

To celebrate literature's newest Nobel Laureate, the Guardian featured the "top 10 things you need to know about Alice Munro."

Alice Munro, 82, the renowned Canadian short-story writer whose visceral work explores the tangled relationships between men and women, small-town existence and the fallibility of memory, won the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature. Ms. Munro revolutionized the architecture of short stories, often beginning a story in an unexpected place, then moving backward or forward in time. She brought a modesty and subtle wit to her work...often traced to her background growing up in rural Canada.

Alice Munro (Nobel Prize in Literature 2013) (b. 1931) is a Canadian author writing in English. Munro's work has been described as having revolutionized the architecture of short stories, especially in its tendency to move forward and backward in time.

In 1998, Alice Munro's short story collection The Love of a Good Woman won the Giller Prize. Margaret Atwood offers a stirring celebration of Alice Munro - now a Nobel Prize winner - in the Guardian ( ... and you can also learn more about her here: www.thecanadianen...

Alice Munro | Man Booker International Prize

Rabindranath Tagore (1861 – 1941)was a Bengali polymath, poet and humanist who reshaped his region's literature and music. Author of Gitanjali, its "profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse", he became the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913. See article -