Explore Marrietta History, Ohio History, and more!

Explore related topics

Giving marbles to the boys 1913

Giving marbles to the boys 1913

Ice on the Ohio River in the 1880s. The buildings in the background are where the Lafayette is now. The ones to the right were torn down when the Bellevue Hotel went up in 1892. The white one to the left had several names including The Mansion House. It was razed in the 1930s to make way for the Lafayette's Hoag Addition.

Ice on the Ohio River in the 1880s. The buildings in the background are where the Lafayette is now. The ones to the right were torn down when the Bellevue Hotel went up in 1892. The white one to the left had several names including The Mansion House. It was razed in the 1930s to make way for the Lafayette's Hoag Addition.

When the Plumbers and Pipefitters Union Hall at 201 Front, corner of Front and Butler, was new, it was called the Electric House because it was Marietta's power plant. It was also the police station and housed the Chamber of Commerce at some point.

When the Plumbers and Pipefitters Union Hall at 201 Front, corner of Front and Butler, was new, it was called the Electric House because it was Marietta's power plant. It was also the police station and housed the Chamber of Commerce at some point.

The Cisler Brick Works complex was across Putnam from the Marietta Chair Company, where the YMCA and Frontier Shopping Center are today. It occupied about 25 acres. Established in 1858, the company turned out about 25,000 bricks a day! You can still see Cisler bricks all over town. This photo is from about 1900.

The Cisler Brick Works complex was across Putnam from the Marietta Chair Company, where the YMCA and Frontier Shopping Center are today. It occupied about 25 acres. Established in 1858, the company turned out about 25,000 bricks a day! You can still see Cisler bricks all over town. This photo is from about 1900.

Easter Egg hunt at Beverly Place which was located where the American Legion is now.

Easter Egg hunt at Beverly Place which was located where the American Legion is now.

This is the Exchange Hotel. It was built in 1831 on the corner of Gilman and Virginia Streets. It later became the Stevens Organ Co.

This is the Exchange Hotel. It was built in 1831 on the corner of Gilman and Virginia Streets. It later became the Stevens Organ Co.

Snowy view of Harmar Hill and the Douglas Putnam House. Date unknown. Probably about 1880. #Ohio #history #winter #Marietta #snow

Snowy view of Harmar Hill and the Douglas Putnam House. Date unknown. Probably about 1880. #Ohio #history #winter #Marietta #snow

Marietta College was chartered in 1835. This picture of campus was taken 50 years later in 1885 from the corner of Fourth and Putnam Streets.

Marietta College was chartered in 1835. This picture of campus was taken 50 years later in 1885 from the corner of Fourth and Putnam Streets.

Front Street at Butler Jan. 24,1937.Two day later, the J. Wittlig & Sons clock at 208 Front St. was underwater. Ten and a half feet of water filled the lobby of the Lafayette Hotel on Jan. 27,1937.

Front Street at Butler Jan. 24,1937.Two day later, the J. Wittlig & Sons clock at 208 Front St. was underwater. Ten and a half feet of water filled the lobby of the Lafayette Hotel on Jan. 27,1937.

Pinterest • The world’s catalog of ideas
Search