Discover and save creative ideas

    the great divorce

    3y Saved to Books
    • Anthony Scott

      The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis. I've given or recommended this book to scores of people. Why do most of a group of people who live in Hell and who are accorded the opportunity to take a bus ride to spend the day in Heaven, decide to get back on the bus to go back to Hell? Read this and learn the human condition. Read this and learn about yourself.

    • Lori Moody

      The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis I love this book, despite not being a Christian. It taught me how easy it is to be weighed down by suffering and that by recognising our own limitations we can get back on the right path (for C S Lewis this was of course towards God and heaven). Wonderful, engaging reading for those of all faiths and none.

    • Megan Schnobrich

      Everyone should read this book..frightening but intriguing imagery..makes you chew and swallow so much wrong thinking about yourself..and the great divorce between heaven and hell

    • Leslie Fanchon Lefebvre-Brown

      The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis Great book! Read it twice and bought copies for others.

    • Loren Colclough

      The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis another book added to the "must read list"

    People also love

    We read to know that we are not alone. C.S. Lewis

    Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis -

    C.S. Lewis

    a favorite

    Surprised by Joy, C.S. Lewis.

    A Grief Observed, C.S. Lewis.

    fangirl, by rainbow rowell <<< I JUST CHECKED THIS BOOK OUT AT THE LIBRARY AND I WAS THINKING "Finally, a book about my people."

    The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger is a romantic comedy about a female lawyer handling her first divorce case — and a messy, disasterous one at that. Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will recognize the format, as it's also told through personal correspondence, office memos, emails, articles, and legal papers.

    DIY Narnia theme, C.S. Lewis quote from The Magician's Nephew, the bell and the hammer. by

    From The Great Divorce - such an insightful allegory on heaven and hell. I love C.S. Lewis!

    The Magician's Nephew by C.S. Lewis*.

    St John's College Old Library

    “The world in books seemed so much more alive to me than anything outside. I could see things I'd never seen before. Books and music were my best friends."


    The Business of Heaven: Daily Readings from C. S. Lewis by C. S. Lewis

    Library one?

    Fantastic Mr. Fox.

    Library lounge with 33'000 books to read during the stay! 2B Boutique Hotel in Zurich, Switzerland. Might make a dream vacation ;-)


    National Library Week, 1961