Jackson is back with another sexy set of Southern characters. Paula Vauss has spent her adult life putting the past behind her, but when a note from her estranged mother arrives, it turns Paula’s life up-side down. She is led on a scavenger hunt through her childhood, chasing a mother she vividly remembers through stories of their past and of the Hindu gods they named themselves after. Suspenseful and beautifully written, this book feels like find the porch light still on in the dark…

The Opposite of Everyone: A Novel, a book by Joshilyn Jackson

Ellis’ off kilter collection of tales from the domestic sphere are darkly funny and whip-smart. With topics ranging from the seedy underbelly of ladies’ book clubs to ever-escalating email wars between neighbors, readers are sure to delight in each story’s wit and calamity. A bright, frothy read to get you through the winter doldrums. - Kaitlyn

Read Online American Housewife: Stories by Helen Ellis - A sharp, funny, delightfully unhinged collection of stories set in the dark world of domesticity, American Housewife features murderous ladies who lunch, c

Most interview articles or books are interesting for personal or professional information brought to light. This book does that, and Hannah was, no doubt, a person whose work and life, both, were iconoclastic. Beyond this, however, these interviews surrender the funny, brilliant and honest conversational language of Hannah that defined his social being and his fiction. A must read for Hannah fans--lots of Oxford stuff -- with a nice intro by Jimmy Thomas. - Richard

Conversations with Barry Hannah

“In a town of extreme wealth and poverty with little in between,” George Clare comes home one afternoon to find his three year old daughter alone and his wife murdered, without a clue by whom. Immediately, of course, George becomes the chief suspect. Set over the course of a generation in a community where local farms are dying out and other unsolved crimes evolve, Brundage creates a community of mystery. Move over, Girl on a Train and Gone Girl. - Richard

All Things Cease to Appear – Elizabeth Brundage. Designed by Mario Hugo

In a parish plagued by perpetual rain, Starck uses small town oddballs to create a novel that touches on self doubt, faith, and hometown pride. Noah’s Wife is charming and engaging from the first page to the last. - Al

In a parish plagued by perpetual rain, Starck uses small town oddballs to create a novel that touches on self doubt, faith, and hometown pride. Noah’s Wife is charming and engaging from the first page to the last.

Lutz tells the story of two women on the lam, whose dark pasts can’t stay hidden much longer. The Passenger asks a compelling question. “How far would you go to no longer be yourself?” - Al

The Passenger by Lisa Lutz “Lutz develops riveting suspense by slowly revealing the events that first sent Tanya/Amelia on the run, while pouring threats o

This lost classic of noir is maybe the best work of crime fiction you’ve never heard of. Long hard to find, it ranks right up there with the best of Chandler, Hammett, and other masters. Hopefully, now Chaze (who spent most of his career as a journalist in Hattiesburg, MS) will finally get the recognition that he deserves. - Cody

During the Gold Medal Books introduced authors like Jim Thompson, Chester Himes, and David Goodis to a mass readership eager for stories of lowlife and s

Carrie Brown’s seventh novel plunges into the life of Caroline Herschel, who was the lifelong assistant to and younger sister of William Herschel. Together they made breakthrough discoveries in astronomy, including the first discovery of a planet since antiquity. The story follows Caroline, or Lina, who does much of the scrub work that allows her brother to work more efficiently; Lina became the first woman to be awarded the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society. - Richard

The Stargazer’s Sister by Carrie Brown; design by Oliver Munday (Pantheon / January

Three disparate individuals, a white man, an escaped slave and a Native American, are on the run together in colonial America. Their flight and subsequent hunt for them is the basis for a powerful novel that brilliantly examines the uniquely American concept of freedom and the often dispossessed people who helped its development. Readers can’t help being immersed in the story and intrigued by the strong concepts inherent in this unique novel. - Bill

Katy Simpson Smith will read from her sophomore novel tonight at p.

I recall as if yesterday the excitement I felt first reading his debut collection, The Watch, published when Rick was living in Mississippi. For a Little While contains eighteen of his best stories, including such favorites as “The Legend of Pig-Eye,” “Field Events,” and “The Watch.” This best-of compendium also has the latest -- seven new stories, altogether featuring the dynamic imagination and stylistic versatility in the funny, dark, tender, luminous stories of Rick Bass. - Richard

I recall as if yesterday the excitement I felt first reading his debut collection, The Watch, published when Rick was living in Mississippi. For a Little While contains eighteen of his best stories, including such favorites as “The Legend of Pig-Eye,” “Field Events,” and “The Watch.” This best-of compendium also has the latest -- seven new stories, altogether featuring the dynamic imagination and stylistic versatility in the funny, dark, tender, luminous stories of Rick Bass. - Richard

Did you know that birds, dogs, horses, and more self-harm? That pigs can suffer from eating disorders? That vets may have figured out SIDS decades ago? This book illustrates the amazing and sometimes unbelievable connections between animal and human health with fascinating stories, humor, and an elegant plea for cooperation between vets and MDs! - Morgan, a Jackson, MS zookeeper

Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human and Animal Health by Barbara Natterson-Horowitz, Kathryn Bowers

Inspired by the hit TV show, Cole Bowden began making the signature burgers featured in each episode and documenting his passion on the internet. Fans of the show loved it and the rest is history. I keep flipping through it not to laugh at the horrible puns on buns, but to drool over the easy, fun, and totally do-able recipes. Even if you've never seen an episode, this cookbook stands on its own. - Andrew and Al

Booktopia has The Bob's Burgers Burger Book, Real Recipes for Joke Burgers by Loren Bouchard. Buy a discounted Hardcover of The Bob's Burgers Burger Book online from Australia's leading online bookstore.

Information can be found in non-fiction, but if you're looking for the Truth, it lives in stories. For fans of Southern literature and amazing stories. - Al

Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions

Powerful and hilarious, this indie debut immerses you in nostalgia and hope, sadness and science. When Karl finds a closet wormhole and a friend smart enough to turn it into an app, he naturally starts a business. When his nostalgia-fueled rules are broken, and his friend sent a thousand years into the past, he must enlist the help of punk-rock physicist and future wife, Lena.Together they explore time and love and learn those ideas don't always mix. Sometimes, if you're lucky, they do…

If you could go back in time and see any band play, whom would you choose? In Mo Daviau's Every Anxious Wave, that question faces Karl, a .

A fascinating look at how intensely books and literature can affect history. Greenblatt explores the affect the newly discovered 99BC poet Lucretius has on a book-fiendish papal secretary in 1417. Outside of this personal and fascinating literary relationship, THE SWERVE will transport you across centuries and, by reading it, thank you for choosing to continue the tradition of reading. - Amanda

'The Swerve: How the World Became Modern' by Stephen Greenblatt ---- Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Non-Fiction Winner of the 2011 National Book Award for Non-FictionOne of the world's most celeb.

When A. inherits a large estate after the sudden and mysterious suicide of his cousin, he is thrust into the middle of a mystery with deadly consequences. Ghosts, cultists, and dreams of unspeakable acts are only the beginning for A. A mystery in the tradition of Lovecraft, King, and Henry James, once Cantero has you hooked, you won't want to put this book down. - Andrew

The mesmerizing English debut from the bestselling author of Meddling Kids—what& as a gothic ghost story soon evolves into a wickedly twisted treasure hunt.

Pinterest
Search