The first four archangels (Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel) are the ones that stand in the four corners of The Great Throne of God. These four archangels are the ones that protected the four camps of the people of Israel in the wilderness: to the North, to the South, to the East and to the West. They are the angels of the four winds, according to the Scripture that says: “[You] Who maketh his angels spirits [literally, winds]; his ministers a flaming fire” -Psalms 104:4

The first four Archangels (Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel) stand in the four corners of The Great Throne of God. A blessed Ascension to you all!

Beautiful Orthodox icon of Jesus Christ. #orthodox #christianity

Christ the Teacher. One of the most beautiful Orthodox icons of Jesus that I have ever seen Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner!

Lyuba Yatskiv - Crucifixion

Yatskiv Lyuba - Mother, Do Not Lament Me. Gold, Acrylic on wood Byzantine Icon

Orthodox Icons, Cross

храмовая икона Спас Вседержитель

храмовая икона Спас Вседержитель

Икона Иоанн Креститель

character inspiration John the Baptist - prophet archetype

More ideas