Wordfest Read & Review Program

Wordfest Read and Review Program runs year-round and is a great way to contribute to Wordfest as it prepares for its 22th Festival (Oct , 2016) Help us assess the dozens of books and “galleys” (unedited pre-publication book manuscripts) sent to Wordfest for consideration every year. Your review could be a key part of the decision on which books and artists to include in the Festival lineup! Comment on these books or see more at http://wordfest.com/read-and-review
191 Pins42 Followers
The Rivals of Versailles, by Sally Christie. And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this captivating follow-up to Sally Christie’s clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

The Rivals of Versailles: A Novel (The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy by Sally Christie

All at Sea, by Decca Aitkenhead. Exploring race and redemption, privilege and prejudice, ALL AT SEA is a remarkable story of love and loss, of how one couple changed each other’s lives and of what a sudden death can do to the people who survive.

All At Sea is on sale July Award-winning journalist Decca Aitkenhead tells a remarkable story of love and loss, of how one couple changed each other’s lives and of what a sudden death can do to the people who survive.

Something to Food About, by Questlove and Ben Greenman. Questlove is a drummer, producer, musical director, culinary entrepreneur, and New York Times best-selling author. What unites all of his work is a profound interest in creativity. In somethingtofoodabout, Questlove applies his boundless curiosity to the world of food.

something to food about by Questlove, Ben Greenman

something to food about by Questlove and Ben Greenman

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, by Elena Ferrante. Since the publication of My Brilliant Friend, the first of the Neapolitan novels, Elena Ferrante’s fame as one of our most compelling, insightful, and stylish contemporary authors has grown enormously. In this third Neapolitan novel, Elena and Lila, the two girls whom readers first met in My Brilliant Friend, have become women.

In this third Neapolitan novel, Elena and Lila, the two girls whom readers first met in My Brilliant Friend, have become women

A breakneck tour of a brokedown city littered with ruptured families, missing mothers, busted bowling alleys, and neon motels.

Waste by Andrew F. Sullivan

Waste: Adrenalin-laced and with a strong sense of the absurd, this small-town Canadian novel explores situations both dark and amoral. Andrew F. Sullivan’s "Waste" takes place in a small Canadian town over a December weekend in Larkhill, Ontario,.

Even This Page is White, by Vivek Shraya. Vivek's debut collection of poetry, even this page is white, is a bold, timely, and personal interrogation of skin―its origins, functions, and limitations. Poems that range in style from starkly concrete to limber break down the barriers that prevent understanding of what it means to be racialized. Shraya paints the face of everyday racism with words, rendering it visible, tangible, and undeniable.

Even This Page Is White by Vivek Paperback The first poetry collection by the author of God Loves Hair and She of the Mountains. As a writer, musici

Thirteen Shells, by Nadia Bozak. A funny, sensitive portrayal of the innocence and uncertainty of childhood and adolescence, Thirteen Shells is a true-to-life collection that is as unforgettable as it is poignant.

Thirteen Shells

Told in the tradition of Richard Linklater’s Boyhood and Alice Munro’s Lives of Girls and Women, Thirteen Shells is a novel-in-stories about a young girl coming of age in the

Time to Take Flight, by Jayne Seagrave. Pack your bags! A reassuring handbook geared toward women between the ages of 40 and 65 who are eager but apprehensive to take a solo adventure.

suitcase and flats ,map,compass and camera ,ready for the road by Marija Anicic - Stocksy United

The New Canadian Garden, by Mark Cullen. An exciting vision of the blossoming new role gardening plays for this generation and the next.

Expert gardener Mark Cullen’s latest book digs into the shift in home horticulture. This is an excerpt from his book, The New Canadian Garden.

Wordfest presents Mohamed Fahmy - 22 Nov 2016 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm Glenbow Museum Theatre, 130 9th Ave SE, Calgary

Wordfest presents Mohamed Fahmy - 22 Nov 2016 pm - pm Glenbow Museum Theatre, 130 Ave SE, Calgary

Wordfest presents Roméo Dallaire - 1 Nov 2016 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm Calgary Public Library (Main Branch) – John Dutton Theatre, 616 Macleod Trail SE

Wordfest presents Roméo Dallaire - 1 Nov 2016 pm - pm Calgary Public Library (Main Branch) – John Dutton Theatre, 616 Macleod Trail SE

ami-mckay

Canadian & UK release October 2016 US release TBA The year is Two hundred years after the trials in Salem, Adelaide Thom (Moth from The Virgin Cure) has left her life in the sideshow to o…

The Girls in The Garden, by Lisa Jewell. Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?

The families that share a London communal garden square think that their children are safe. But when Pip discovers her sister lying unconscious in the rose garden of their common space, everything will be questioned. The Girls in the Garden is

The First Signs, by Genevieve Von Petzinger. One of the most significant works on our evolutionary ancestry since Richard Leakey’s paradigm-shattering Origins, The First Signs is the first-ever exploration of the little-known geometric images that accompany most cave art around the world—the first indications of symbolic meaning, intelligence, and language.

The First Signs by Genevieve von Petzinger - “If you love mysteries, you’ll love this book. Genevieve von Petzinger acts as guide and sleuth in this fascinating,.

Pinterest
Search